The Fruitsmelling Shop

I’m taking part in a musical challenge elsewhere to write a song based on a scene or a character from a book of my own choice.  I have a couple of ideas, but the one I really wanted to do has been done already, and beautifully.  It’s a musical setting by the band Scullion of a passage from James Joyce‘s Ulysses.  The character Blazes Boylan pops into a shop to buy some pears for Molly Bloom, flirts with the girl who’s making up his order, and gives her a flower.  It’s part of the Wandering Rocks chapter.  It’s gorgeous, and so is the musical interpretation by Sonny Condell, Philip King, Greg Boland and Jimmy O’Brien-Moran, linked above.

Nicely done… I guess it’s back to the drawing board… 🙂

About boogalaxy

bolnoy biblio malchick
Link | This entry was posted in somethinginparticular and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.